Temporary Protected Status

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Temporary Protected Status

Temporary Protected Status

Given the prevalence of conflicts and dangerous national situations (like wars and disasters), there are many people in the United States who cannot return to their country of origin. The US requires those staying in the country to have some sort of required status, ranging from permanent residency to those seeking asylum. However, those who cannot return home because of armed conflict or natural disaster can receive temporary protected status. Said status allows for these individuals to remain in the US lawfully.

Temporary Protected StatusTemporary protected status, however, is only awarded to those from ten specific countries. The individual has to be either from Haiti, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Nepal, El Salvador, Honduras, Yemen, Somalia or Nicaragua. In order for a country to be deemed eligible, the Attorney General must designate temporary protected status to all nationals of the country. Once the status is granted, all nationals can apply for the status. If there is a reason to extend a designation for a country due to its domestic circumstances, a designation can be extended again. However, the Attorney General can also choose to not extend.

Apply For Temporary Protected Status

A national of the eligible country can apply for temporary protected status if they meet the required criteria. Most importantly, the applicant must prove why they must physically remain in the US continuously from their arrival. Furthermore, as US Immigrations has rules across the board regarding the ineligibility of residency in the US for those with felony convictions or security-related risks, the applicant must not be subject to these distinctions either. The applicant must file Form I-821 and if this form is denied, the applicant will not receive the status unless they file another application.

More Immigration News
Trump temporarily suspend immigration into the United States
Temporarily suspend immigration into the United States

President Trump signed an Executive Order that will “temporarily suspend immigration into the United States,” effective April 23, 2020. Many individuals have reached out to ask about the implications of this suspension on their case. We understand your concerns and wish to address any questions you may have regarding this development. It is our understanding that the Executive Order will do the following:

The new travel ban will block the entrance to the U.S for citizens of 6 new countries

One of the most controversial actions done by President Donald Trump has been Executive Order 13780 and Presidential Proclamation 9645, a.k.a. the Travel Ban. This Executive Order issued in 2017 initially prohibited any person from Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen to access all immigrant and certain non-immigrant visas. Besides, individual Venezuelan citizens were also restricted from obtaining a visa. Now due to recent government actions, starting February 22nd, 2020, the list will include six new countries, including Burma, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania. With further restrictions, the administration of President Trump is set to block more than 5% of immigrants.

Immigration Detention Process
Immigration Detention Process

In the US, non-citizens can be arrested for various reasons and placed in Immigration Detention. The detention of immigrants in the US is different from being arrested and simply going to any holding facility. The process prior to and after detention is different as well. Many people who find themselves detained do not have the access or support of legal counsel, which is why if you or someone you know is detained – immediately find a lawyer.

Let us work on your case

Or simply fill out the form and one of our attorneys will get back to you pretty shortly.

Sethi Footer
We're Here
To Assist You

Subscribe to Sethi & Mazaheri’s monthly newsletter and receive important immigration-related  updates.

Skip to content